Why I Love the Tavern Brawl Mode in Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft, a trading card game by Blizzard, makers of the Warcraft games.

I mean, okay so it’s a very fun card battling game and there are tons of players. But! It’s not exactly easy to play. You win or lose depending on the cards that you can play and collecting them requires either time or money. You can get cards mostly through buying card packs with gold or real life money. Gold is in-game money, earned through playing the game.

Of course, the card packs contain a random assortment of cards.

My problem with that is that I am a newbie, casual player. In ranked play, I lose almost all of my matches after I reach rank 20 ( a newbie rank lol). So mostly ranked play is impossible for me. 😦

That’s where the Tavern Brawl mode comes to my rescue. Tavern Brawl is a weekly event that has crazy rules for matches. The rules change every week.

Tavern Brawl
Tavern Brawl Randomonium

For example, this week’s Tavern Brawl is “Randomonium.” Both players are givin a deck of random cards and the mana cost of each card is randomized every turn.

The genius of this is that it allows even new players like myself to play. Both players get random card which means it’s an even playing ground for both of us.

Tavern Brawl Hearthstone
Error message Tavern Brawl

The crazy rules of Tavern Brawl also tend to make gameplay really fast. Like, in this particular week, it’s possible to use a 8-10 mana cost card during the early rounds. No need to wait until the round 10 to use all of those super powerful legendary cards, if you are lucky enough.

I guess in a word it’s all RNG. And I love that.

Oftentimes, I like to play Warlock. Why? Because if the game gets too boring, I can suicide via my hero power and the Warlock cards that do damage to my hero. I get bored easily.

Daily writing prompt: Transformation

Tavern Brawl is pretty good because of its random nature. A good card can become a great card when its mana cost is transformed into a lower one, enabling play during the early rounds. There’s really no downside to this unless you hate randomized rules. I personally love that you can win or lose in just a few minutes, compared to regular ranked matches that sometimes drag on for 20 minutes.

TL;DR I Love the Tavern Brawl Mode in Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft because it’s super random.

My other posts about video games:

Riders of Icarus – Excited for Open Beta

Don’t Starve Review

Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale Review

3 comments

  1. Wasn’t the kill yourself thing a Brawl a while back? Or perhaps it was just some silly custom ruleset thing someone thought up. I recall enjoying it quite a bit.

    I do think that Tavern Brawl is designed far more for the casual player who logs in every few days rather than the ladder grinder who is on all night, and that’s why there are far more ‘random’ rules and preset deck type of Brawls than stuff like Clockwork Card Dealer. Having heavy RNG in Brawls brings a type of fun to games that isn’t present in Constructed or Arena, and also helps level the playing field between seasoned players and more casual ones by reducing agency.

    Hope the next time you win your first Brawl of the week, you snag a legendary in your prize pack!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

